Flaunt your Quirk!

A super fun collaboration with star designer Aartivijay Gupta, who also happens to be one of my favourites! Comfortable and sassy, her latest collection “MANDI” is all over fashion magazines and being flaunted by fashion influencers across the world.

I have wanted to work with her collection since I laid my eyes on it, however I was waiting to come up with a slightly more interesting theme rather than just putting the collection out as is! Along side brainstorming ideas for a theme, I had also been working on designing outfits for the wedding season and thats when I came up with the theme for this blogpost.

Since soon we are all going to start running around like headless chickens trying to sort out outfits for 5 different wedding functions, I thought why not take the road less traveled and show some quirk instead of a bling overload this season?!

I created 5 looks with different collections, and styled them to balance out the quirk without losing the Indian traditional touch.

You know I’m a sucker for feedback, so do leave a comment and tell me if you loved or not so yay?! 🙂

Pool parties for kicking – off wedding functions is a big trend these days. I paired an Onion print gingham poncho with nude tie ups from Mango for a bohemian feel. A broccoli print toga paired with Nike Sky-hi dunks for the sporty chics. A very suave white-on-white look with a printed white crop top and white culottes was the final look for this kind of afternoon/evening. I kept the make-up and accessories to bare minimum.

_X7A6565

Poncho – Aartivijay Gupta (Mandi), Tie-ups (Mango)

_X7A6563

Poncho – Aartivijay Gupta (Mandi), Tie-ups (Mango)

_X7A6575

Poncho – Aartivijay Gupta (Mandi), Tie-ups (Mango)

_X7A6566

Poncho – Aartivijay Gupta (Mandi), Tie-ups (Mango)

_X7A6578

Toga – Aartivijay Gupta (Mandi), Shoes – Sky-Hi Dunks (Nike)

_X7A6586

Toga – Aartivijay Gupta (Mandi), Shoes – Sky-Hi Dunks (Nike)

_X7A6592

Toga – Aartivijay Gupta (Mandi), Shoes – Sky-Hi Dunks (Nike)

_X7A6581

Toga – Aartivijay Gupta (Mandi), Shoes – Sky-Hi Dunks (Nike)

_X7A6588

Toga – Aartivijay Gupta (Mandi)

_X7A6655

Crop top – Aartivijay Gupta, Culottes – Vero Moda, Pumps – Marks & Spencers, Hand cuff – Forever 21

_X7A6650

Crop top – Aartivijay Gupta

My next outfit is inspired from a mehndi function. I have always experienced great difficulty in handling the scarf/dupatta, pulling up sleeves and managing the long lehengas with henna on hands; this year my aim is to just enjoy sans the hassles. I teamed a tea-lenght dress with culottes to give the ensemble an Indian touch. I kept the look clean with pearl drops and hair swept back.

_X7A6638

Tea-lenght dress – Aartivijay Gupta, Culottes – Vero Moda

_X7A6607

Tea-lenght dress – Aartivijay Gupta, Culottes – Vero Moda

_X7A6628

Tea-lenght dress – Aartivijay Gupta, Culottes – Vero Moda

_X7A6613

Tea-lenght dress – Aartivijay Gupta, Culottes – Vero Moda

Sangeet is one of biggest nights before the wedding, celebrated with a lot of fan-fair, dancing and drinks. It is important, that along with being at your vibrant best you are also comfortable in the attire; because more often than not, these end up lasting all night long. AVG’s Mosaic print box pleated skirt had already captured my attention; which I styled with an old gold sequinned saree blouse and a stole picked up from a flea market. I accessorised the ensemble with a bindi and gold hand cuff.

_X7A6683

Skirt – Aartivijay Gupta, Blouse – my own, Dupatta- Flea market

_X7A6703_1

Skirt – Aartivijay Gupta, Blouse – my own, Dupatta- Flea market

_X7A6706

Skirt – Aartivijay Gupta, Blouse – my own, Dupatta- Flea market

_X7A6695

Skirt – Aartivijay Gupta, Blouse – my own, Dupatta- Flea market

All pictures shot by : Bhrigu Khandelwal

Leave a Reply

