Have you mixed prints lately?

What I wore…..

Yesterday was a very grey, rainy morning when I jumped out of bed because I had overslept and almost missed a bank appointment. Usually for early, important appointment mornings like these I am well prepared, with my clothes for the day and hand bag with essentials neatly placed in one corner of the room. However, yesterday wasnt one of those days. I was lost when I woke up, quickly went through emails and instagram (sneaky) and hurried for a shower.

Mixing prints kind of a Tuesday with Silver accessories

Mixing prints kind of a Tuesday with Silver accessories

Shower is a place where I make most of my important life decisions and thats when I mentally started going through my wardrobe. Little dramatic, but this day when I was running late was the day I decide to face my biggest styling fear- Mixing prints! I absolutely love this trend of mixing prints and contrasting fabrics, but it isnt my strongest virtue.

I knew I wanted to wear my brand new maroon and white striped box crop top (Forever 21); the challenge was to figure the bottoms. The air was a bit nippy so I was sure it had to be some kind of pants. I first tried my black and white polka dot pajama pants with cuffed ankles (Forever 21), but that made me look like I was going back to bed. Next up, I tried black n white treggings with zip details (H&M), still wasn’t happy with the look.

Striped Box crop - F21, Floral drawstring pajamas, River Island, Bag - Michael Kors, Silver Neck ring, anklet and Bracelets

Striped Box crop – F21, Floral drawstring pajamas, River Island, Bag – Michael Kors, Silver Neck ring, anklet and Bracelets

 

Teaming it with black and white floral satin pajamas, cuffed at the bottom (River Island)gave me exactly what I was looking for. All this left no time for me to do hair/make up, so I quickly grabbed my metallic silver Michael Kors hand bag, silver bracelets, silver anklet and silver arrow detail neck ring. Finished the look with a high pony tail.

photo

My only other attempt at MIXING PRINTS. Top and dress, Bershka

This little exercise made me realise no matter how big or small, face one challenge each day. Nothing is more uplifting than conquering and smiling!

 

Leave a Reply

